« What is it? | Home | Super Mario Bros Sound FX Keychain »

October 26, 2008

5bases — The new cold fusion or the next big thing?

2futf_2

I saw their ad (above) in the new issue of The Economist yesterday, which led me to their website (below)

Yuioy_2

which sent me to this page which led

Houuo8_2

here.

October 26, 2008 at 10:01 AM | Permalink


TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c5dea53ef010535bf5e42970c

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference 5bases — The new cold fusion or the next big thing?:

Comments

There is more information emerging about the technology claims that were made in The Economist.

It appears that the deadline for reading molecular identity (e.g. complete human genome sequences) is set "by 2012". The Long Now Foundation has a project called Long Bets. Their website says " “By 2012, current venture capital- and privately-funded methods of DNA sequencing, independent of any additional “incremental improvements” will be made obsolete by the technology described in The Economist (October 25th - 31st 2008; US print edition, p.82) and at http://www.5bases.com.” The argument is compelling.

Wow, that is fast! See www.longbets.org/440.

Posted by: Peter | Dec 9, 2008 1:29:42 PM

For the benefit of those outside Europe, Madeira is an island way out in the Atlantic (capital=Funchal) and a distant outpost of Portugal. I visited it once and it is mountainous and generates a lot of cloud. Hope they have a better place to site their wonder-cells!

Posted by: Glistens | Nov 6, 2008 7:06:25 AM

Wow, that last comment made as much sense as the advert. I wonder if they are from the same 'company'?

Posted by: Rocketboy | Oct 31, 2008 9:23:37 PM

The value of their claims is beyond money. Whether or not the message of the advertisement is understood will determine the outcome – imagined, or a real world without disease and with unlimited utilization of solar energy.

Posted by: Messanger | Oct 31, 2008 4:37:18 PM

just spent time searching patent databases for anything that looks related to their claims,
but haven't been able to find anything..

Posted by: roger1 | Oct 29, 2008 10:02:01 AM

their domain who is, is registered in a small town called madeira in portugal.

here is the rest of the info:

ATTN: 5bases.com
Avenida do Infante 50
Funchal, Madeira 9004-521
PT

Posted by: carlos | Oct 27, 2008 5:01:37 PM

Ah, so monetizing is a good thing?

I knew that.

Posted by: Majeanne | Oct 26, 2008 1:42:58 PM

Yeah, red flags all over the place. First off, why the juxtaposition of solar energy and "a world without disease"? That is odd. I'm calling Shenanigans.

Posted by: Jeff Tulley | Oct 26, 2008 12:47:29 PM

So, it's a way to charge people to use solar energy?

Posted by: Rocketboy | Oct 26, 2008 12:03:41 PM

New big scam.

Posted by: Milena | Oct 26, 2008 10:39:38 AM

The comments to this entry are closed.