« Wedding Invitation in a Tin Can | Home | Helpful Hints from joeeze: How to keep leftover cake moist »

June 2, 2009

If the line is in, why do they replay points where the ball hits the end line in the French Open?

I mean, sure, the ball skips crazily off the line but so what?

And while we're at it, why doesn't the French Open use the Hawk-Eye and challenge system?

I've seen two instances already today where the umpire's calls were wrong and the player correct in pointing out where the ball landed, confirmed by the replay camera for me at home but alas, not to the crowd or officials at Court Suzanne Lenglen.

June 2, 2009 at 02:01 PM | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference If the line is in, why do they replay points where the ball hits the end line in the French Open?:


Hey, Definitely --



(Swore up & doon I'd never do this, but...)


Posted by: Flautist | Jun 4, 2009 2:03:02 AM




Posted by: DefinitelyCreativeEnough!(Choosing to use the correct spelling!) | Jun 4, 2009 12:57:52 AM

If the umpire calls a ball out but Hawkeye shows it in then it is replayed if the player had a chance to get it but pulled back due to the call.

The French Open, and all clay court tournaments, don't use Hawkeye since there is usually a clear mark on the clay and on the line that the umpire can run over and see.

Hawkeye does have a margin of error so it isn't always correct - but, the players and umpires play the match with the agreement that whatever Hawkeye says goes. The video you linked is an example of that, where the Hawkeye provided wasn't even of the correct ball bounce (it was the 2nd bounce of the ball). The company itself issued this apology - http://www.hawkeyeinnovations.co.uk/UserFiles/File/Ljubicic%20Challenge.pdf

Posted by: yogahz | Jun 3, 2009 10:25:51 AM

The comments to this entry are closed.